All files are active in the system to those who have Edit privilege or are an Administrator.  If a User is deactivated, the User cannot access DocuShare Go until an Administrator reactivates the User.  If a User is deleted, they no longer can access the account.  The files are there for the Administrator totransfer.

In choosing Deactivate, the files are still assigned to that User, just not accessible. Deleted means that account is gone and the Administrator must decide what to do with the files that were in the account.